PUBLIC NOTICE: Invitation to attend CAC Customers' Forum in Abuja on 26th March, 2019 Read more....
Free songs


Boards of four parastatals under the Federal Ministry of Trade and Investment were on February 21, 2013 inaugurated by the Minister of Trade and Investment, Dr. Olusegun Aganga, in Abuja.

They include the Boards of the Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC), Oil and Gas Free Zone Authority (OGFZA), Standard Organisation of Nigeria (SON) and the Nigeria Export Promotion Council (NEPC).

Inaugurating the Boards, the Minister who was represented by the Minister of State for Trade and Investment, Dr. Samuel Ortom commended the President, Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan for constituting the new Boards comprising, men and women of integrity, knowledge and experience in the public and private sectors of the Nigerian economy.

He stated that the Ministry and all its Parastatals share a common mandate anchored on creating an enabling environment to stimulate domestic investment and attract foreign direct investment into all sectors of the economy and making Nigeria the most preferred investment destination.

Acknowledging the important role of Board members in formulating good policies that will drive the operations of the parastatals, the Minister said they were not to interfere in the day-to-day running of their respective parastatals.

Adding, Boards of parastatals are responsible for setting out broad economic, financial, operational administrative guidelines and targets for their various agencies. They are concerned with policy issues, monitoring of institutional projects, programmes and ensuring that the parastatals’ mandates are realized.

He warned that their appointment is on part-time basis only and as such, they are not expected to interfere or participate in the day-to-day running of their respective agencies.

In his words: “I must stress at this juncture, that no Chairman or board member is entitled to an official vehicle on permanent basis. Same goes for office or residential accommodation, you are enjoined to comply with the provisions of extant circulars governing your tenure especially circular No. SWC/S/04/S.310/105, dated 10th June, 2010 issued by the National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission, which specified your allowances and frequency of meetings”.

The Minister however, charged the new boards to ensure that their activities are geared towards the actualization of President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan’s transformation agenda.

He implored them to co-operate with their respective agencies in actualizing the vision of their organizations, adding that his office is open to them for consultations should the need arise.

The Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Investment, Mr. Dauda Shuaibu Kigbu, in a brief remark said the appointment and inauguration of these four boards could not have come at a better time as this when the Ministry is repositioning.

Highpoint of the inauguration was the introduction of the chairmen and members of the Boards to the cheering and applause of the Management of their respective agencies and their loved ones.

The Board of the Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC) was on Thursday, 21st February, 2013 inaugurated.

The Board is made up of ten (10) members with Otunba Funso Lawal,OON as Chairman.

Others are the Registrar-General, Alhaji Bello Mahmud, Dr. Ausbeth N. Ajagu,MFR, Chief (Mrs.) Elizabeth Omeresan Adegite,FCA, Ohagba Okey Leo, Edosa Kennedy Aigbekaen, Nima Salman Mann,Mni, Alhaji Sanusi Maijama’a, Professor Adedeji Adekunle and Osabuohien Helen Omo-Osagie